History

The UBC Faculty of Medicine (FoM) is a recognized educational innovator and has created a framework and structure, through a new centre, to support scholarly work on its innovations. The centre has been named the Centre for Health Education Scholarship (CHES).

Following the recommendations of a 2006 FoM strategic planning report, the Faculty began a consultative process to determine the feasibility of implementing an academic unit dedicated to the scholarship of health education. A Steering Committee held consultations with all Department Heads and School Directors, as well as selected faculty members, to identify benefits to be gained and issues to be addressed in the formation of a Centre.

The result of this consultative process was the creation of the Centre for Health Education Scholarship (CHES) in July 2008, following Faculty Executive approval in April 2008.

The following faculty comprised the Steering Committee whose efforts resulted in the establishment of CHES:
 
Dr. Bob Armstrong
Head, Pediatrics
barmstrong@cw.bc.ca
 
Lesley Bainbridge
Associate Principal, Interprofessional Education
College of Health Disciplines
lesley.bainbridge@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Joanna Bates
Senior Associate Dean, Undergraduate Program
Faculty of Medicine
joanna.bates@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Richard Cohen
Clinical Assistant Professor
Respiratory Medicine
rdcohen@interchange.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Carol-Ann Courneya
Associate Professor
Cellular & Physiological Sciences
carol-ann.courneya@ubc.ca
 
Jane Eibner
Executive Director, Education & Strategic Projects - Dean's Office
Faculty of Medicine
jane.eibner@ubc.ca
 
Dr. David Fairholm
Assistant Dean - Faculty Development & Educational Support
Faculty of Medicine
fairholm@interchange.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Sandra Jarvis-Selinger
Assistant Professor & Associate Director of Research
Surgery
sandra.js@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Niamh Kelly
Associate Professor & Distance Education Instructor
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
niamh@interchange.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Chris Lovato
Associate Professor & Director, Program Evaluation, Evaluation Studies Unit
School of Population and Public Health
chris.lovato@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Gordon Page
Director
Division of Education Support & Development, College of Health Disciplines
gpage@pop.unixg.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Daniel Pratt
Professor
Educational Studies
dan.pratt@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Ravi Sidhu
Assistant Professor, Division of Vascular Surgery
Surgery
rssidhu@providencehealth.bc.ca
 
Dr. David Snadden
Associate Dean, Northern Medical Program
Faculty of Medicine
snadden@unbc.ca
 
Dr. Angela Towle
Assistant Professor, Associate Dean
Faculty of Medicine
atowle@interchange.ubc.ca