History

The UBC Faculty of Medicine (FoM) is a recognized educational innovator and has created a framework and structure, through a new centre, to support scholarly work on its innovations. The centre has been named the Centre for Health Education Scholarship (CHES).

Following the recommendations of a 2006 FoM strategic planning report, the Faculty began a consultative process to determine the feasibility of implementing an academic unit dedicated to the scholarship of health education. A Steering Committee held consultations with all Department Heads and School Directors, as well as selected faculty members, to identify benefits to be gained and issues to be addressed in the formation of a Centre.

The result of this consultative process was the creation of the Centre for Health Education Scholarship (CHES) in July 2008, following Faculty Executive approval in April 2008.

The following faculty comprised the Steering Committee whose efforts resulted in the establishment of CHES:
 
Dr. Bob Armstrong
Head, Pediatrics
604 875-2000 (2315)
barmstrong@cw.bc.ca
 
Lesley Bainbridge
Associate Principal, Interprofessional Education
College of Health Disciplines
604 822-1712
lesley.bainbridge@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Richard Cohen
Clinical Assistant Professor
Respiratory Medicine
rdcohen@interchange.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Carol-Ann Courneya
Associate Professor
Cellular & Physiological Sciences
604 822-8245
carol-ann.courneya@ubc.ca
 
Jane Eibner
Executive Director, Education & Strategic Projects - Dean's Office
Faculty of Medicine
604 561-3997
jane.eibner@ubc.ca
 
Dr. David Fairholm
Assistant Dean - Faculty Development & Educational Support
Faculty of Medicine
604 875-4396
fairholm@interchange.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Sandra Jarvis-Selinger
Assistant Professor & Associate Director of Research
Surgery
604 875-4111 ext: 69132
Sandra@cpdkt.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Niamh Kelly
Associate Professor & Distance Education Instructor
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
604 822-0322
niamh@interchange.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Chris Lovato
Associate Professor & Director, Program Evaluation, Evaluation Studies Unit
School of Population and Public Health
604 822-9251, 604 875-4111 (66002)
chris.lovato@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Gordon Page
Director
Division of Education Support & Development, College of Health Disciplines
604 822-6641
gpage@pop.unixg.ubc.ca
 
Dr. Daniel Pratt
Professor
Educational Studies
604 822-4552
dan.pratt@ubc.ca
 
Dr. Ravi Sidhu
Assistant Professor, Division of Vascular Surgery
Surgery
604 806-8698
rssidhu@providencehealth.bc.ca
 
Dr. David Snadden
Associate Dean, Northern Medical Program
Faculty of Medicine
250 960-6172
snadden@unbc.ca
 
Dr. Angela Towle
Assistant Professor, Associate Dean
Faculty of Medicine
604 875-5153
atowle@interchange.ubc.ca